Constituindo a informação científica de qualidade um recurso essencial às atividades desenvolvidas na FEUP, destacamos as coleções de e-books disponibilizadas pela Biblioteca e que poderão ser particularmente úteis neste período de recolhimento em casa. São milhares de livros eletrónicos de múltiplos editores e diversas áreas temáticas, como engenharia, ciência e tecnologia, saúde, humanidades ou ciências sociais.
De entre outras coleções acessíveis a partir do website da Biblioteca, seguindo a ligação Ebooks, salientamos:
• Knovel (especializada em engenharia)
• SpringerLink, Science Direct ou Taylor & Francis (multidisciplinares)
Sendo coleções subscritas, é importante não esquecer que o acesso a partir de casa exige o uso de VPN (ver aqui as instruções de instalação).
No contexto de pandemia os editores procuram disponibilizar ferramentas que possam ajudar a minimizar os impactos do isolamento social e encerramento das universidades, de que destacamos:
- Faculty Select da EBSCO, que permite localizar e aceder a Recursos Educativos Abertos (REA), bem como identificar e solicitar acesso a eBooks livres de DRM;
- Taylor & Francis e Marka, disponibilizam até 20 de abril o acesso a toda a coleção de ebooks desta editora (não apenas os já adquiridos pela Biblioteca para a comunidade).
Para o apoiar na exploração destas coleções, a Biblioteca irá realizar no próximo dia 1 de abril (14h30) um webinar dedicado a esta temática. Convidamo-lo desde já a inscrever-se neste endereço.
Brevemente daremos mais informações sobre outras sessões do programa de formação regular, agora em formato online.
Recordamos que nos mantemos ao dispor através dos endereços de email:
Serviço de infoliteracia: infoliteracia@fe.up.pt;
Email geral da biblioteca: biblioteca@fe.up.pt;
Conte connosco!
+++++++
Since quality scientific information is an essential resource for the activities at FEUP, hereby we would like to highlight the e-Books’ collections that the Library makes available to you and that may be of special usefulness during this period in which we have to stay at home. There are thousands of electronic books from varied publishers and scientific domains, such as Engineering, Science and Technology, Health, Humanities or Social Sciences.
Among many other collections available through the Library’s website, in the Ebooks link, we would like to highlight the following:
• Knovel (which is specialised in Engineering)
• SpringerLink, Science Direct or Taylor & Francis (which are multidisciplinary)
These are subscribed collections, so it is important to remind you that for access from home a VPN (pl. check installation instructions here) is required.
Within this pandemic context, publishers seek to make available all the tools that may help people to minimise the impacts of social isolation and universities’ closing, such as:
- Faculty Select from EBSCO, which allows the location and access to Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as to identify and require access to free DRM eBooks;
- Taylor & Francis and Marka, who made available until April, the 20th, the access to the whole ebooks collection from this publisher (this means, not only those subscribed by the Library for the community).
To support you in exploring these collections, the Library will make a free webinar on the next 1st of April (at 14h30) dedicated to this topic. Registrations can be made already here.
We will soon inform you of other training sessions that we will provide, now in a distance learning format.
Let us still remind you that we remain available at the following e-mail contacts:
Infoliteracy Service: infoliteracia@fe.up.pt;
Library (primary e-mail): biblioteca@fe.up.pt;
Count on us!
Na impossibilidade de manter ativo o programa de Formação Regular presencialmente, a Biblioteca preparou um conjunto de sessões online em formato webinar, que irão decorrer durante o mês de abril.
As sessões serão realizadas em português e abrangem diferentes temáticas, desde os gestores bibliográficos (Endnote e Mendeley), às bases bibliográficas de referência (Web of Science, Scopus e Inspec) e ainda um novo módulo dedicado à publicação científica (Onde Publicar).
O programa de Formação Regular está disponível em https://feup.libcal.com/. Para participar basta que se inscreva em cada sessão que pretende frequentar.
Empenhados em levar a formação até si, convidamo-lo a consultar o programa e a inscrever-se!
Recordamos que nos mantemos disponíveis através dos endereços de email:
Serviço de Infoliteracia: infoliteracia@fe.up.pt
Email geral da biblioteca: biblioteca@fe.up.pt
Conte connosco!
Biblioteca da FEUP
+++++++++++++++++++++++
The Library prepared a set of webinars to be launched during the coming month of April, as a way to minimise the impact of having to cancel all in-class workshops.
These webinars will be held in Portuguese and cover topics like bibliographic managers (Endnote and Mendeley), bibliographic databases (Web of Science, Scopus and Inspec) and a new module dedicated to scientific publishing (“Onde Publicar” [Where to Publish]).
The full programme is available on https://feup.libcal.com/. To attend, you just need to make your registration.
We are committed to maintaining our training offer, so check the programme and make your registration!
Remember that we remain available through the following contacts:
Infoliteracy Service: infoliteracia@fe.up.pt
Other issues: biblioteca@fe.up.pt
Count on us!
FEUP’s Library
Commenting on blog posts requires an account.
Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.
If you do not have an account, Register Now.