Notícias da Infoliteracia

A Biblioteca convida toda a Comunidade a participar no webinar “Maximizing Knovel in your library” que terá lugar no próximo dia 27 de novembro pelas 10h00.

Nesta sessão serão apresentadas as principais funcionalidades da plataforma Knovel, uma ferramenta essencial para a pesquisa de informação em Engenharia no contexto académico.

A sessão decorrerá em inglês e é gratuita, no entanto a inscrição é obrigatória. 
 

Sobre a Knovel:
A Knovel é uma plataforma disponibilizada pela Elsevier, especializada em e-books nas áreas de engenharia. Contém diferentes tipos de livros de diversos editores e inclui conteúdos interativos (tabelas, gráficos, equações) e casos de estudo. A FEUP acede a todas as coleções disponíveis.
 

Veja o guia de apoio da Biblioteca: https://feup.libguides.com/c.php?g=492538&p=3369927
 

Mais informações:  infoliteracia@fe.up.pt.

--------------

The Library invites the entire community to participate in the webinar “Maximizing Knovel in your library,” which will take place on November 27th at 10 am.

This session will present the key features of the Knovel platform, a vital tool for researching engineering information in an academic setting.
 

The session will be held in English and is free of charge, but registration is required. 
 

About Knovel:
Knovel is a platform provided by Elsevier, specializing in e-books in the fields of engineering. It contains different types of books from various publishers and includes interactive content (tables, graphs, equations) and case studies. FEUP has access to all available collections.
 

See the Library support guide: https://feup.libguides.com/c.php?g=492538&p=3369927
 

More information: infoliteracia@fe.up.pt.
 

As editoras AIP e IEEE já passaram a integrar novamente a lista das que permitem publicação em Acesso Aberto ao abrigo do acordo transformativo negociado pela B-On para o triénio 2025-2027. A lista das revistas e os detalhes de elegibilidade das propostas de publicação podem ser consultadas na página habitual, localizada em: https://www.b-on.pt/acesso-aberto/#acessoaberto.
 

A B-On continua, assim, a expandir as oportunidades de publicação em Acesso Aberto para os investigadores das instituições aderentes.
 

Para mais informações contacte o Serviço de Infoliteracia: infoliteracia@fe.up.pt

----------------

The publishers AIP and IEEE have once again been included in the list of those allowing Open Access publication under the transformative agreement negotiated by B-On for the 2025–2027 period. The list of journals and the eligibility details for publication proposals can be found on the usual webpage at: https://www.b-on.pt/acesso-aberto/#acessoaberto.

B-On thus continues to expand Open Access publishing opportunities for researchers from participating institutions.

For more information, please contact the Information Literacy Service: infoliteracia@fe.up.pt

O Serviço de Gestão de Documentação e Informação da UPdigital convida a comunidade académica a participar em webinars de conhecimento de boas práticas de pesquisa e de publicação em recursos de informação subscritos pela U. Porto que se irão realizar durante o mês de novembro.
 

O programa incluiu as seguintes  sessões: 
- 11 novembro (14h00 – 15h00) | Tenha resultados mais precisos com a pesquisa avançada na SCOPUS
- 12 novembro (14h00 – 15h00) | Como publicar um artigo científico com a Elsevier
- 18 novembro (18h00 – 19h00) | Como publicar um artigo científico com a Elsevier
- 25 novembro (18h00 – 19h00) | Tenha resultados mais precisos com a pesquisa avançada na SCOPUS

A participação é gratuita, mas requer  inscrição prévia.

Para mais informações, contacte o Serviço de Gestão de Documentação e Informação através do e-mail: documentacao.informacao@uporto.pt

----------------------------

The Documentation and Information Management Service of UPdigital invites the academic community to participate in a series of webinars on best practices for research and publishing using information resources subscribed to by the University of Porto, taking place throughout November.
 

The program includes the following sessions:
- November 11 (2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.) | Get more precise results with advanced search in SCOPUS
- November 12 (2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.) | How to publish a scientific article with Elsevier
- November 18 (6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.) | How to publish a scientific article with Elsevier
- November 25 (6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.) | Get more precise results with advanced search in SCOPUS
 

Participation is free of charge but requires prior registration.
 

For more information, please contact the Documentation and Information Management Service at: documentacao.informacao@uporto.pt

O Repositório Aberto da U.Porto disponibiliza online e em acesso livre a produção científica e intelectual da Universidade. Uma das suas mais-valias é a integração com o sistema de informação académico Sigarra.

Sempre que investigadores, docentes ou estudantes carregam publicações no Sigarra, os registos são automaticamente copiados para o Repositório Aberto, assegurando maior visibilidade, preservação e acesso em texto integral.

Este mecanismo simplifica processos administrativos, promove a transparência e reforça o compromisso da U.Porto com a Ciência Aberta.
 

Porque abrir o conhecimento é ampliar o impacto da investigação.

-----------

The U.Porto Open Repository provides free online access to the University’s scientific and intellectual production. One of its key strengths is its integration with the University’s academic information system, Sigarra.

Whenever researchers, lecturers or students upload their publications to Sigarra, the records are automatically copied to the Open Repository. This ensures greater visibility, long-term preservation and full-text access to U.Porto’s research outputs.

The mechanism simplifies administrative processes, promotes transparency and reinforces the University’s commitment to Open Science.
 

Opening knowledge means amplifying the impact of research.

A Universidade do Porto disponibiliza serviços de apoio para investigadores, docentes e estudantes que pretendem publicar em Acesso Aberto, em alinhamento com a sua política institucional. Através do Serviço de Documentação e Informação da UPdigital, a comunidade académica pode obter acompanhamento personalizado em todas as etapas da publicação. A equipa de apoio (documentacao.informacao@uporto.pt) esclarece dúvidas sobre requisitos, licenciamento e boas práticas editoriais.

A U.Porto dispõe de acordos transformativos diretos com algumas editoras científicas e, por integrar a B-On, beneficia ainda dos acordos disponibilizados por este consórcio nacional.
 

Mais informações: Publicar em Acesso Aberto.

------------------

The University of Porto provides support services for researchers, lecturers and students wishing to publish in Open Access, in line with its institutional policy. Through the UPdigital Documentation and Information Service, the academic community can receive personalised guidance at every stage of the publishing process. The support team (documentacao.informacao@uporto.pt) advises on requirements, licensing and editorial best practices.

U.Porto has direct transformative agreements with some scientific publishers and, as a member of B-On, also benefits from the agreements provided by this national consortium.
 

More information: Publishing in Open Access.
 

Em outubro de 2024, a Universidade do Porto publicou a sua nova Política de Ciência Aberta, atualizando a de 2008. Um ano depois, continua a orientar estudantes, docentes e investigadores, reforçando o compromisso institucional com a transparência e a partilha do conhecimento.

O documento reconhece os princípios da Recomendação da UNESCO sobre Ciência Aberta (2021) e sublinha o papel da ciência aberta nos Objetivos de Desenvolvimento Sustentável. Entre os recursos destacados estão o Repositório Aberto da U.Porto e o Porto Research Data Center (PoRDC), que asseguram acesso aberto, gestão responsável e reutilização de dados.

Mais informações: Política de Acesso Aberto da U.Porto | Documento oficial em PDF.

-------------------

In October 2024, the University of Porto published its new Open Science Policy, updating the 2008 Open Access framework. One year on, it continues to guide students, lecturers and researchers, reinforcing the institution’s commitment to transparency and knowledge sharing.

The policy explicitly acknowledges the principles of the UNESCO Recommendation on Open Science (2021) and highlights resources such as the U.Porto Open Repository and the Porto Research Data Center (PoRDC), which ensure open access, responsible data management and reuse.
 

More information: U.Porto Open Access Policy | Official PDF.

A Ciência Aberta é um movimento global que transforma a forma como se produz e partilha conhecimento científico. Recomendada pela UNESCO desde 2021, através de uma resolução aprovada na sua 41.ª Conferência Geral, promove práticas mais transparentes, equitativas e participativas em todas as etapas da investigação.
 

Defende o acesso livre a publicações, dados, “software” e infraestruturas, incentivando a colaboração entre académicos, decisores e cidadãos. Portugal tem assumido um papel ativo, como demonstra o primeiro relatório nacional submetido pela FCT à UNESCO.
 

Para compreender melhor este conceito, a UNESCO disponibiliza este vídeo explicativo.

 
 Porque abrir a ciência é abrir possibilidades — para todos.

-------------------

Open Science is a global movement transforming the way scientific knowledge is produced and shared. Officially recommended by UNESCO since 2021, through a resolution adopted at its 41st General Conference, it promotes more transparent, equitable and participatory practices across all stages of research.

It advocates for free access to publications, data, software, and infrastructure, encouraging collaboration among academics, policymakers, academics, policymakers and citizens. Portugal has played an active role, as shown by the first national report submitted by FCT to UNESCO.
 

To explore the concept further, UNESCO provides an explanatory video.
 

Opening science means opening possibilities — for everyone.

Desde 2008, a Semana Internacional do Acesso Aberto mobiliza investigadores, docentes e estudantes em todo o mundo para promover o acesso livre ao conhecimento científico. Organizada pela SPARC, aliança global de bibliotecas e instituições académicas, é celebrada todos os anos em outubro com debates, workshops e iniciativas locais.
 

Em 2025, o destaque recai sobre modelos de publicação científica em acesso aberto: o Diamond OA (sem custos para autores nem leitores, financiado por instituições) e o Subscribe to Open – S2O (revistas por subscrição que se tornam abertas se os assinantes mantiverem o apoio).
 

Mais do que uma celebração, é um apelo à ação: o conhecimento deve ser livre, inclusivo e comunitário.

-------------

Since 2008, International Open Access Week has brought together researchers, lecturers and students worldwide to promote free access to scientific knowledge. Organised by SPARC, a global alliance of libraries and academic institutions, it is celebrated every October with debates, workshops and local initiatives.

In 2025, the focus is on models of open-access scientific publishing: Diamond OA (no costs for authors or readers, funded by institutions) and Subscribe to Open – S2O (subscription journals that become open-access if subscribers maintain their support).

More than a celebration, it is a call to action: knowledge must be free, inclusive and community-driven.

No próximo dia 21 de outubro, às 11h00, terá lugar o webinar “Ciência Aberta em Evolução: o contributo da FCT”, promovido pela FCT / FCCN. 
 

Nesta sessão serão abordados os seguintes temas:
- A nova Política de Acesso Aberto;
- Os acordos transformativos da b-on;
- Parcerias na Iniciativa Diamante;
- Atualizações do Programa Nacional de Ciência Aberta e Dados Abertos (PRR);
- Novidades sobre o currículo narrativo integrado no Ciência Vitae.
 

Este webinar integra-se na Semana Internacional do Acesso Aberto (20 a 26 de outubro), subordinada ao tema “A quem pertence o nosso conhecimento?” 
Mais informações: https://projeto.rcaap.pt/ 
 

A participação é gratuita, mas requer inscrição prévia. 
 

Para detalhes adicionais, consulte a página do evento.  
 

Durante esta semana, a Biblioteca da FEUP associa-se a esta iniciativa, publicando um conjunto de notícias dedicadas ao Acesso Aberto. Para as receber diretamente, basta subscrever o seu canal de notícias.

Para qualquer dúvida, poderá contactar-nos  infoliteracia@fe.up.pt  

-------------------

On 21st October, at 11:00 a.m., the webinar “Open Science in Evolution: the contribution of FCT” will take place, this session is promoted by FCT / FCCN. 
 

This webinar will cover the following topics:
- The new Open Access Policy;
- The transformative agreements of b-on;
- Partnerships in the Diamond Initiative;
- Updates on the National Open Science and Open Data Programme (PRR);
- News about the integrated narrative curriculum in Ciência Vitae.
 

This training session  is part of International Open Access Week (20 to 26 October), under the theme “Who owns our knowledge?” 
Further information: https://projeto.rcaap.pt/ 
 

Participation is free, but prior registration is required.  
 

For more details, please check the event page. 
 

Over this week, FEUP’s Library will be joining this initiative by publishing a series of news dedicated to Open Access. To receive them directly, simply subscribe to our news channel. 
 

If you have any questions, please contact us at infoliteracia@fe.up.pt 

A Web of Science lançou recentemente a Smart Search, uma funcionalidade que torna a pesquisa mais intuitiva, permitindo consultas em linguagem natural e eliminando a necessidade de operadores booleanos complexos. Com recurso à inteligência artificial, oferece resultados mais relevantes através de pesquisa semântica.
Entre as novidades, destacam-se:
 

- Pesquisa semântica: interpreta o significado da consulta (sinónimos, contexto e relações entre termos) para apresentar resultados mais precisos.
- Pesquisas multilíngues: identifica o idioma da consulta e usa IA para encontrar termos equivalentes noutras línguas, ampliando os resultados
- Mapas de co-citação: disponíveis diretamente nas páginas de resultados, facilitam a visualização das conexões entre artigos.
 

Utilizadores que prefiram o modelo clássico, podem desativar a Smart Search a qualquer momento.
 

Mais informações disponíveis nesta página ou através do Serviço de Infoliteracia da FEUP: infoliteracia@fe.up.pt

-------------------

The Web of Science has recently launched Smart Search, a feature that makes searching more intuitive by allowing natural language queries and removing the need for complex Boolean operators. Powered by artificial intelligence, it delivers more relevant results through semantic search.
Key highlights include:

- Semantic search: interprets the meaning of a query (synonyms, context, and relationships between terms) to provide more accurate results.
- Multilingual searches: detects the query language and uses AI to find equivalent terms in other languages, broadening the scope of results.
- Co-citation maps: now available directly on the results pages, making it easier to visualize connections between articles.

Users who prefer the classic search model can disable Smart Search at any time.

More information is available on this page or through the FEUP Information Literacy Service: infoliteracia@fe.up.pt